1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Cart
  4. Checkout

Seven Shires Way

Seven Shires Way

by: Elaine Steane
The Severn Shires Way is a 234 mile long walk around the Oxfordshire county boundary. The route criss-crosses the boundary, taking the walker into seven shires from Gloucestershire to Oxfordshire, Warwickshire, Northamptonshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire and Wiltshire. The path passes through a wide variation of scenery: from the marlstone scarp slope of Edgehill in Warwickshire to the ironstone villages of North Oxfordshire, the clay vale of Aylesbury, the beech woods of the Chiltern Hills, the riverbank of the Thames, the open downland of Berkshire and Cotswold villages in Gloucestershire.

This book divides The Severn Shires Way into twenty one sections, all of which have suggested access points for shorter distances, a list of useful accommodation and information about public transport. Each walk is accompanied by the relevant section of the Ordnance Survey Explorer map reproduced in monotone with the route highlighted in colour. There are excellent directions and descriptive text and the book is illustrated throughout with attractive pen and ink drawings. The book also provides archaeological, historical, botanical and literary detail of the journey.

ISBN 9781873877517 Pages 200 (2002) 148mm x 210mm

Price: 12.95